Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: [reference] CoD2 engine limits

  1. #1
    Assadministrator IzNoGoD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,718
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 1,068 Times in 674 Posts

    [reference] CoD2 engine limits

    Back in the days there was a thread on modsonline about limits of the CoD2 engine.

    I thought it would be nice to make a similar thread here.

    Currently:

    General:
    Gamestate: 16k (1.0/1.2) or 128k (1.3) (serthy)
    weapons: 64 or 128, but bugs out after approximately 48 (izno)
    Max string length: 1024 (for cvars and in script)(serthy), 256 (for iprintln and probably iprintlnbold too)(izno)
    Max client cvars: 1000 minus the default ones (serthy)

    Menus:
    Max precached: 64 (serthy)
    Max actions in a menu (OnOpen etc): 42ish (serthy)

    Players:
    headicons: 16 (serthy)
    statusicon: 8 (serthy)

    Any other limits you want to have listed here, any ?? you want to have filled with your value or spotted an error? Reply
    Last edited by IzNoGoD; 16th February 2014 at 19:25.
    "Does not work" is an error report for a bug between keyboard and chair.

    All hail Artie Effem

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to IzNoGoD For This Useful Post:

    ysniper (10th April 2016)

  3. #2
    Sergeant serthy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    450
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 296 Times in 188 Posts
    I remebered those:

    General gamestate:
    1.0 16k
    1.2 16k
    1.3 128k

    app. max actions in menu event (a la onOpen): 42

    max precached menus: 64
    max precached statusicon: 8
    max precached headicon: 16

    max cvar string length: 1024
    max count client cvar: << 1000

  4. #3
    Private First Class
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 105 Times in 66 Posts
    Max "newHudElem()" is 32 I believe.

    Probably the same with "newClientHudElem()" but haven't tested.

    I wish there was a way to increase the limit D=
    Last edited by filthy_freak_; 16th February 2014 at 21:23.

  5. #4
    Private First Class RobsoN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    /home/cod2/
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 95 Times in 64 Posts
    Selbie told me there is 32 limit of newHudElem and 32 of newClientHudElem.

    And why 64 menus? On 1.0:

    ******* script runtime error *******
    Too many menus precached. Max allowed menus is 32
    "Don't worry if your code doesn't work correctly - if everything worked, you would not work" ~Mosher's right

  6. #5
    Brigadier General
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    994
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 588 Times in 388 Posts
    Anyone know what the max number of script variables is? I've not hit it yet (because I haven't had a hard server crash), but I suspect I must be near it, because the game looses track of players leaving and returns an "undefined is not an array, string or vector" to prefect code in callback_playerDisconnect(). This tells me there is something wrong and I must be borderline with some ceiling limit. I just can't figure out what it is.

  7. #6
    Assadministrator IzNoGoD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,718
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 1,068 Times in 674 Posts
    I thought max vars were approx 65k, but dont quote me on that
    "Does not work" is an error report for a bug between keyboard and chair.

    All hail Artie Effem

  8. #7
    Global Mossaderator Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    204
    Thanked 450 Times in 305 Posts
    I had this error yesterday.

    Code:
    ERROR: G_FindConfigstringIndex: overflow (846): 'fx/un/20mm_tracer.efx'
    I had probably too many loadfx.

    You can also have max 64 map name in one or more .arena files. (above 64 it shows just the default mp_***)

    Edit: when i don't load the shoot through wall script from IzNoGod then the overflow is gone. (it has 23 loadfx)
    Last edited by Mitch; 22nd February 2014 at 13:18.

  9. #8
    Private
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 74 Times in 45 Posts
    Max array size: ~4096

  10. #9
    Assadministrator kung foo man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    trailerpark
    Posts
    2,010
    Thanks
    2,102
    Thanked 1,084 Times in 753 Posts
    script_brushmodel 256 or so (soft limit should be around 200, since at some point nades are invisible etc.)
    timescale 0.01

  11. #10
    Global Mossaderator Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    204
    Thanked 450 Times in 305 Posts
    objective_add is limited to 16 objectives. (0 until 15)

    PHP Code:
    if ( *(_DWORD *)v7 || *(_DWORD *)v7 15 )
    {
        
    v0 sub_80B7FA6("index %i is an illegal objective index. Valid indexes are 0 to %i\n", *(_DWORD *)v715); 
    Also compared to cod4 the states are limited to 3 (empty, invisible, current).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •