Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: [reference] CoD2 engine limits

  1. #11
    Private First Class php's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 116 Times in 59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mitch View Post
    objective_add is limited to 16 objectives. (0 until 15)

    PHP Code:
    if ( *(_DWORD *)v7 || *(_DWORD *)v7 15 )
    {
        
    v0 sub_80B7FA6("index %i is an illegal objective index. Valid indexes are 0 to %i\n", *(_DWORD *)v715); 
    Also compared to cod4 the states are limited to 3 (empty, invisible, current).
    v36

    jk;
    good job

  2. #12
    Global Mossaderator Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    204
    Thanked 450 Times in 305 Posts
    Xmodel limit: 255 unique xmodels or 1024 xmodel in total (G_ModelIndex: overflow)

    Client commands for outputting entities (to server console): printentities, entitycount (this one requires cheats).
    Last edited by Mitch; 29th January 2015 at 16:35.

  3. #13
    Private First Class
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 105 Times in 66 Posts
    Max menuDef is 128

    Code:
    UI_AddMenu: Maximum number of menus 128 exceeded.
    Maximum number models you can attach to an entity is 8.
    Maximum number of turrets you can spawn is 32.


    Also not sure if this should be classed as an engine limit or bug, but character animations do not get reloaded if you have previously joined a server. You are required to restart cod2.
    Last edited by filthy_freak_; 10th August 2015 at 04:22.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to filthy_freak_ For This Useful Post:

    kung foo man (10th August 2015)

  5. #14
    Sergeant maxdamage99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    458
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 122 Times in 101 Posts
    Сan "raise" limits? Change the game engine?

  6. #15
    Assadministrator IzNoGoD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,718
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 1,068 Times in 674 Posts
    The amount of objectives is hardcoded clientside last time i tried anything with it, so thats a no-no.
    Amount of menus is probably overrideable, but you would have to alter other configstring indices to get it to work properly
    xmodels can be shown unprecached using configstring alteration already, so no need to up that limit anyway
    turrets: i dont see how anyone would need more than 32 turrets on a map, will lagg the server anyway if all those are in use. If you need more turrets, just add them to the map itself maybe?
    attach: im not gonna burn my fingers on such delicate (shit) code
    g_modelindex overflow is also triggered by too many trigger_use_touch, so limit those in your .map (all trigger_use_touch objects ++ the modelindex counter)
    gamestate: hell no (however you can add tricks like sending precaches AFTER the client connects. Is quite hard and requires some custom coding so could be doable)
    weapons: they bug out after approx 48, so increasing the limit from 64 or 128 to a higher number is useless. Just modify the weapon's parameters using the libcod functions or write some of those yourself
    string length has been patched (non-libcod patch), but only internally. Still, getting to over 1024 chars and you're doing something wrong imo
    cvars cause a clientside crash, so thats clientside hardcoded
    headicons: hardcoded clientside (spent waaaay too long figuring that out)
    statusicons: see headicons
    hud elems: using over 32 hud elems is generally ill advised, but might be patchable to a higher number. havent tried.
    script vars: 65k is 16bit unsigned integer, so changing that will require a MAJOR overhaul of the ENTIRE engine, so dont even go there
    entity limit is 1024, but ents become invisible after 256 ents are shown (so you can add a ton of script_origins on top of visible ents), but i'd assume this is limited clientside
    "Does not work" is an error report for a bug between keyboard and chair.

    All hail Artie Effem

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to IzNoGoD For This Useful Post:

    kung foo man (11th August 2015)

  8. #16
    Sergeant maxdamage99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    458
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 122 Times in 101 Posts
    And if you imagine it is that all the players on my server will pump not only fashion, but also all the files are in a directory "Call Of Duty2" Full game (Server launcher)

  9. #17
    Assadministrator IzNoGoD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,718
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 1,068 Times in 674 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by maxdamage99 View Post
    And if you imagine it is that all the players on my server will pump not only fashion, but also all the files are in a directory "Call Of Duty2" Full game (Server launcher)
    Again, like in the other thread, this sentence makes no sense at all. Please learn how to form proper english sentences before you speak
    "Does not work" is an error report for a bug between keyboard and chair.

    All hail Artie Effem

  10. #18
    Sergeant maxdamage99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    458
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 122 Times in 101 Posts
    This you need to learn how to use translate.google like this I use, and learn how to talk to people, respectively not be bastards!

  11. #19
    Assadministrator IzNoGoD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,718
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 1,068 Times in 674 Posts
    I do not need to learn how to decode your google translate mess as this is an english forum, so you should at least make yourself understandable in english. If you fail at that, you can try google translate, but that is not a guarantee that the result will even form any kind of logical sentence (protip: YOUR SENTENCE MAKES NO SENSE)
    "Does not work" is an error report for a bug between keyboard and chair.

    All hail Artie Effem

  12. #20
    Assadministrator kung foo man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    trailerpark
    Posts
    2,010
    Thanks
    2,102
    Thanked 1,084 Times in 753 Posts
    What's the xmodel triangle/face limit?
    timescale 0.01

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •