Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Import model from CoD4 using Tom's Xmodel Utils

  1. #11
    Global Mossaderator Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    204
    Thanked 450 Times in 305 Posts
    I am currently using a maya script to copy the translation of the bones from cod4 and then update cod2 bones translation. (the model isn't binded yet to the skin)
    PHP Code:
    print("setAttr j_head.translateX " getAttr("j_head.translateX") + ";\n");
    print(
    "setAttr j_head.translateY " getAttr("j_head.translateY") + ";\n");
    print(
    "setAttr j_head.translateZ " getAttr("j_head.translateZ") + ";\n"); 
    I made a forum to change the bone names to the way cod2 uses them. (j_mainroot => J_MainRoot) It is made in java, but it is easily converted to an exe. Also the code above can be generated using the java program.

    Example for restoring entire face bones.
    PHP Code:
    j_head
    j_eye_lid_bot_le
    j_eye_lid_bot_ri
    j_eyeball_le
    j_eyeball_ri
    j_cheek_le
    j_cheek_ri
    j_brow_ri
    j_levator_ri
    j_jaw
    j_levator_le
    j_brow_le
    j_neck
    j_eye_lid_top_ri
    j_eye_lid_top_le 
    I am at the moment manual replacing these bones in the paint/bind maya script (the binding script that Tom's Xmodel Utils uses requires maya 8.5)
    PHP Code:
    j_knee_bulge_le/ri => J_HipTwist_LE/RI (= wrongprobably needs to be J_Hip_LE/RI or J_Knee_LE/RI)
    j_mainroot => J_Spine1 (or keep j_mainroot depends what works better)
    back_low => J_Spine2
    back_mid 
    => J_Spine3
    j_shoulderraise_le 
    => joint1
    j_shoulderraise_ri 
    => joint2
    j_coatfront_le 
    => J_MainRoot
    j_coatfront_ri 
    => J_MainRoot
    j_coatrear_le 
    => J_MainRoot
    j_coatrear_ri 
    => J_MainRoot 
    FixPaintNames.rar (including my maven netbeans project)
    Last edited by Mitch; 4th July 2013 at 17:03. Reason: it might be better to keep j_mainroot if you get less or no bugs this way

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Mitch For This Useful Post:

    kung foo man (4th July 2013)

  3. #12
    Lieutenant Loveboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    546
    Thanks
    229
    Thanked 72 Times in 46 Posts
    Hi Mitch! i need your help, i want to get the Materials, so i need the GDT files, but i dont know how to get it from toms xmodel exporter. Can you help me?

  4. #13
    Global Mossaderator Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    204
    Thanked 450 Times in 305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Loveboy View Post
    Hi Mitch! i need your help, i want to get the Materials, so i need the GDT files, but i dont know how to get it from toms xmodel exporter. Can you help me?
    When you export the model to .ma it also gives you the images. Copy these images to cod2/images.
    (i renamed _sas_ct_bodies_sp_spec-rgb&sa_765bd06c to sas_ct_bodies_sp_spec etc.)

    In the names you can see _spec, _nml and _col which means specular, normal and color map. Now open asset manager. Make a new material call it like the names in hypershade. In my case it would be sas_ct_bodies_sp. Set surfacetype to none and add the images you added in cod2/images for the right types. And now convert them.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ssassetmanager.png 
Views:	27 
Size:	9.7 KB 
ID:	329
    Last edited by Mitch; 4th July 2013 at 16:04.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Mitch For This Useful Post:

    Loveboy (4th July 2013)

  6. #14
    Lieutenant Loveboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    546
    Thanks
    229
    Thanked 72 Times in 46 Posts
    Thank you so much! That helped me and i know now how to make it!

  7. #15
    Lieutenant Loveboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    546
    Thanks
    229
    Thanked 72 Times in 46 Posts
    Mitch, i need really now the GDT file (from the model from model exporter) because idk with what the image is connected.

    Please help me!

  8. #16
    Brigadier General
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,012
    Thanks
    440
    Thanked 171 Times in 132 Posts
    save the gdt as the name of the image

    EDIT: make your own thread

  9. #17
    Global Mossaderator Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    204
    Thanked 450 Times in 305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Loveboy View Post
    Mitch, i need really now the GDT file (from the model from model exporter) because idk with what the image is connected.

    Please help me!
    This is what the exporter generated. I used for myself the materialType world phong. They use model phong. Does it matter which one you use?
    (Also the eyes use blend and not replace)

    The generated GDTs by Tom's Xmodel Utils: GDTs.rar

    Also i am now using the legs from cod4 and head. And the other parts are the cod2 bones. This fixes my leg problem with the model, but now i got a paint problem with the spines. (something i am trying to get fixed)
    Last edited by Mitch; 5th July 2013 at 13:44.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •