PDA

View Full Version : Archive



IzNoGoD
13th July 2024, 09:12
Here's a (hopefully up-to-date) mirror of everything posted in the #archive discord channel.

IzNoGoD
13th July 2024, 09:13
MODSonline archive:

MODSonline has recently shut down.

All tutorial files are uploaded to https://archive.org/details/mods-online-archive by @thatdarnowl.

Video tutorials:

CoD1: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLzlHQaNpSPoXZincQZxmJLoFGPFrmczIn
CoDUO: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLzlHQaNpSPoVeRueqT1NtaMq20Cd7YRso
CoD2: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLzlHQaNpSPoVf6JkCrly_Q_3dBmYTi-Il

IzNoGoD
13th July 2024, 09:16
Blackscreen fix

When booting into CoD2 on any recent version of windows without compatibility mode enabled, a blackscreen appears for several seconds, up to several minutes.

@php/@lw has found the cause of this being incorrect enumeration of the sound input devices. He has patched this out in the .exe attached here. It has also been renamed to iw3mp.exe to take advantage of driver optimizations that were not originally intended for CoD2.

Zipped to allow for upload.

1708

IzNoGoD
13th July 2024, 09:18
Making a grid file

Grid File is used for correct light calculation for player model and gun, if you change lightning in your map, then you should change the Grid as well.
If you have a rainbow gun in your map then Grid File should fix this, even with collecting only one Grid dot on the spawn.
With the very large map, you can hit the Grid limit and your map won't be compiled with lights.
If your map is very large it's good to create first smaller Grid, make a backup of the file (.grid file is in the map_source folder), and try to enlarge this Grid until you hit the limit.
The Grid can be very large however, a huge map as mp_caen has a Grid covering the whole map up above the roof level.

1. Make sure your map (d3dbsp file) with compiled lights is in the folder main/maps/mp.
2. In the same folder create yourmapname.gsc file that contains:
main()
{
maps\mp\_load::main();
}

3. Put the modified cod2compiletools_grid.bat file into the bin folder.
4. Run CoD2CompileTools.exe in the bin folder and find your map in the scroll menu (this searches for your map file in the map_source folder)
5. In the "Grid File" field check "models collect dots", select "Make New Grid" in the drop-down menu, and press "Start Grid".
6. If your game crashes make sure you followed step 2 properly, or clean your main folder of mod files.
7. In the game collect Grid dots wherever the player can go, but be aware that you can hit Grid limit.
8. When you are done disconnect from the game and quit the game in the menu, or your Grid won't be saved.
9. If you want to modify your Grid size then repeat step 5 but instead of "Make New Grid" select "Edit Existing Grid".


cod2compiletools_grid.bat:


@ECHO OFF

set treepath=%~1
set makelog=%2
set cullxmodel=%3
set mapname=%4

IF EXIST "%treepath%main\maps\mp\%mapname%.d3dbsp" goto MP_Map


echo No map available for making grid!
pause
goto End

:MP_Map
echo Gridfile for Multiplayermap %mapname%


rem mkdir "%treepath%main\maps\mp\"

IF EXIST "%treepath%\map_source\%mapname%.grid" copy "%treepath%\map_source\%mapname%.grid" "%treepath%main\maps\mp\%mapname%.grid"

cd %treepath%

CoD2MP_s.exe +set developer 1 +set logfile 2 +set r_smc_enable 0 +set r_smp_backend 0 +set sv_pure 0 +set g_gametype codjumper +set scr_dm_timelimit 0 +set r_vc_makelog %makelog% +set r_vc_showlog 16 +set r_cullxmodel %cullxmodel% +set com_introplayed 1 +devmap %mapname%

IF EXIST "%treepath%\map_source\%mapname%.grid" attrib -r "%treepath%\map_source\%mapname%.grid"

IF EXIST "%treepath%main\maps\mp\%mapname%.grid" move /y "%treepath%main\maps\mp\%mapname%.grid" "%treepath%\map_source\%mapname%.grid"

:END
cls

IzNoGoD
13th July 2024, 09:18
Compiling a map utilizing full RAM potential and multi-threading via cod2rad64

1. Extract contents of CoD2 iwd files (iw_00.iwd - iw_15.iwd) + your custom materials into Call of Duty 2/raw
2. Rename CoD2 main folder to something else to prevent it from being used by the compiler
3. In Call of Duty 2/bin/cod2compiletools_compilebsp.bat replace "cod2rad" with "cod2rad64"
4. In CoD2 Compile Tools in Custom command line options write -Threads 4
5. Compile

IzNoGoD
13th July 2024, 09:20
Scrolling textures

The CoD2 engine has support for scrolling textures. They are usually not available for modders, but this patch by @Zyrc fixes that.

1709