PDA

View Full Version : better spawns



feanor
9th March 2016, 07:16
how can i make better spawns for custom maps ?

Ni3ls
9th March 2016, 07:45
what do you mean by "better"?

feanor
9th March 2016, 08:31
all custom maps have 1-2 spawn points . specially when we are playing ctf one team always being stuck in same area then finishes fast..

Ni3ls
9th March 2016, 10:51
You can decompile them and add spawns

IzNoGoD
9th March 2016, 12:06
Or just add them in your script.

Mitch
9th March 2016, 17:39
You can decompile them and add spawns

Add the spawns with a hex editor and then recalculate the end of the file. That is what you mean right?

IzNoGoD
9th March 2016, 18:02
Lol, why not just edit your scripts to include some other spawns? way easier and more flexible.

I'm even using spawns defined in a mysql database in my own mod...

serthy
9th March 2016, 19:18
best way is as IzNoGod suggested, use script and don't mess up ur maps


// delete unused spawns
spawns = getEntArray();

for( i = 0 ; i spawns.size ; i++ )
{
if( isSubStr( spawns[i].targetname , "spawn" ) )
spawn[i] delete();
}
// set new spawns here
level.spawns = [];

for( i = 0 ; i < myNewSpawns ; i++ )
{
s = spawnStruct();
s.origin = myNewSpawns[i].origin;
s.angles = myNewSpawns[i].angles;
s.team = myNewSpawns[i].team; // whatever
}

now use level.spawns instead of
getEntArray( "bla_spawn_tdm" , "targetname" );

IzNoGoD
9th March 2016, 23:26
And for ctf you gotto do that twice, for both sides of the map.

feanor
24th March 2016, 06:51
thanks you all , now tripoli and port is better maps :)

kung foo man
25th March 2016, 03:27
plz share ^^

feanor
31st March 2016, 10:16
^^but they are american maps now , you can change it to british easily you know
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zwkab3gneghhpua/mp_port_sparta_modified.iwd?dl=1
https://www.dropbox.com/s/tcp73v6fajipnq2/mp_tripoli_sparta.iwd?dl=1