PDA

View Full Version : Install 32-libs on VPS



Ni3ls
20th August 2014, 21:13
Hi all, I got a vps. Now i need to install ia32-libs. I updated the sources list. Then I do apt-get update. Next thing is apt-get install ia32-libs

Package ia32-libs is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

E: Package 'ia32-libs' has no installation candidate


Who can help me? VPS is Debian 7, 32 bit

YuriJurek
20th August 2014, 21:28
The ia32-libs is deprecated so you should consider migrating to multiarch, to do this
dpkg --add-architecture i386
apt-get update

And then
apt-get install package:i386

This should do the trick.

Ni3ls
20th August 2014, 22:25
Still dont work for me :/ I work in the root. Must i make sudo user?

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package package

YuriJurek
20th August 2014, 22:39
Have you tried this after doing --add-architecture?
apt-get install ia32-libs

kung foo man
20th August 2014, 23:33
Who can help me? VPS is Debian 7, 32 bit

Since you are already running 32 bit version, you don't need a package for 32 bit support. :D

I think you are missing the old gcc libraries, which cod2_lnxded was linked against. Download: http://killtube.org/downloads/cod2/gcc3-libs.zip

Just extract them next to your cod2_lnxded, or put them in /lib-directory and run ldconfig, to put them in ld cache.

But first try to install them the normal way and don't mess with /lib etc.:



apt-get install libstdc++5


Source: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/16084323/trying-to-find-and-install-libstdc-so-5-to-run-c-with-mex-for-matlab

Ni3ls
21st August 2014, 00:43
But must i still do install ia32-libs after doing that?

kung foo man
21st August 2014, 11:27
No, just install libstdc++5 and try to run cod2_lnxded:



apt-get install libstdc++5




./cod2_lnxded +set fs_game blablub

Ni3ls
21st August 2014, 11:32
It works now! Thanks to Badboy! Indeed libstd missing

YuriJurek
21st August 2014, 15:39
Sorry for misleading, I thought you were using a 64 bit distro.

Ni3ls
22nd August 2014, 12:34
No problem. All the help is always appreciated!