PDA

View Full Version : Show Jump-Distance

DjTranceFire
21st October 2013, 10:16
Hey guys..
At first i want to say sorry for my bad english! :P
I'm new to modding but i try my best..
I created a small script to show the jump distance of a player but its not working as it should.
It prints the distance but the distance is not realy precise.
I tested it on a custom map with known gap's to check everything..
I jumped a distance of 240 Units but my script prints smaller distances then 240.
Maybe someone has a good idea to improve this script? :x

while(1)
{
if(!self.InJump && self isOnGround())
{
self.startJumpPos = self.origin;
}
else if(self.InJump && self isOnGround())
{
self.jump_distance = distance( self.startJumpPos, self.origin );
self iPrintLn("You jumped "+self.jump_distance+" units.");
self.InJump = false;
}
else if(!self isOnGround())
{
self.InJump = true;
}
wait 0.05;
}

IzNoGoD
21st October 2013, 11:09
Not possible, i tried a while back with speed prediction, but still was not possible. You cannot know where you land or take off.

DjTranceFire
21st October 2013, 12:56
ok, thank you for the quick answer! :)

kung foo man
21st October 2013, 15:37
For a side note, things like this would require client side scripting for running a function each com_maxfps-frame, which is not possible in CoD2.

Any server side while (1) { wait 0.05; } loop is just too slow.

megazor
24th October 2013, 03:19
You could try setting sv_fps to 125 :)

But any way, even if you managed somehow to get the exact distance jumped, it wouldn't work correctly for gap jumping.

I found out that the movement of the player in the air depends on solid objects they are flying by. I used my .cfg jump script for various gap distances, and I noticed: the greater distance it was, the bigger value my distance-meter would show. Although jumping with a script is supposed to be pretty much the same regardless of which gap you jump over.

That there problem limits the use of the distance jumped check.